2011 – It’s about Relationships

Firstly – I’d like to wish everyone a Happy Healthy Successful New Year and I hope you all take full advantage of the New Year, as the New Year is like a blank canvas for a new start.

Secondly – The New Year is an opportunity for everyone to improve.  Improvements can be made in all aspects of life – some may put a limit on the amount of alcohol intake, some may control they spending and for some it maybe to improve their fitness, a friend of mine has a New Year resolution for collecting different types of glass bottles – don’t ask me why – whatever the improvement the New Year is the best time.

December for me has been a month for reflection and realisation.  Something which I’ve got into a habit of doing every year.  It’s a period where I gather some thoughts on how the current year has gone by and what I can do the improve going into the New Year.  It’s time to make a new resolution for the New Year.

My Resolution for the New Year is to work on RELATIONSHIPS – which includes friends, family, work colleagues, neighbours or anyone who I have engagement with.  We know how important relationships are in our lives.  Relationships is definitely a topic which we are going to see more off this year, and this year we will need our relationships to be stronger than they have ever been before.

The previous years I have made some promising changes as part of my resolutions and I’m happy to report that I have kept to these resolutions despite at time facing huge difficulties in maintaining them – 2010 was a year to improve my fitness, saying that my fitness has always been good but not consistent but by introducing different activities on a weekly basis has improved my health physically and mentally.  2009 was a year to take better control of my finances and to make my money work better for me, by introducing simple saving methods and reinvesting the money intelligently has brought forward its fruit.

So this New Year is going to be all about Relationships, improving and making stronger existing ones and making new relationships.  I fall into a trap of taking relationships as granted and an illusion that they will always be there.  What I fail to recognise is that relationships are a gift for me, each one is different to the other, each one has its highs and lows but they all make us what we are.

So by taking a new fresh look at the relationships I have – I will hope to make them stronger by putting more of my energy into them.  By doing just that little bit extra can make a big difference and can create a new level of relationship – a simple unexpected call to find out how someone is can increase your attachment, a call instead of sending a text message to someone can increase your attachment, and so on.

One social activity which I was well known for while I was a student was to invite friends once a month for a meal which I would cook, and the next month invite different friends and so on.  I guess this is something which I can reintroduce and manage going forward.

So this is what I will be introducing and doing in the New Year.  So what are you going to change for the new year?

4 comments

    1. I grew my hair long last year in 2010 (very long) but on New Years day I did the unthinkable and cut it very very short – the weather hasn’t been kind to my head – but for 2011 I am going to keep short hair.

      Teleport – Interesting but has anyone every managed to do it?

    1. I think trying to get better at stuff that you already do is the way forward. As I have decided to work on all my relationships now that were 15 days into the new year I realised its a bigger challenge that I had imagined – but I’m not the one to give up.

Leave a Reply

